Play-off final: Sunderland's NINE previous Wembley appearances - and how they've fared

Sunderland face Charlton Athletic at Wembley for the League One play-off final with promotion to the Championship up for grabs - but how have the Black Cats fared in their previous visits to the national stadium?

Sunday, 26th May 2019, 11:18 am
How does Sunderland's record at Wembley stadium stack up?
How does Sunderland's record at Wembley stadium stack up?

Click down and scroll through the pages to take a look at Sunderland's mixed Wembley record.

Sunderland won their first ever FA Cup at Wembley with goals from Bobby Gurney, Raich Carter and Eddie Burbanks cancelling Frank O'Donnell's opener.
Ian Porterfield's solitary strike and Jimmy Montgomery's stunning stave propelled Bob Stokoe's second-tier Sunderland to a huge upset over First Division Leeds.

Sign up to our Sunderland AFC newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

An own goal Gordon Chisholm and a Clive Walker missed penalty meant Sunderland ran out 1-0 losers to Norwich City, with both teams ending the season with relegation from the First Division.
Sunderland competed in the Football League's 100-year anniversary Wembley tournament, drawing a shortened game with Wigan who then beat the Black Cats on penalties.
Ossie Ardiles' side won 1-0 after Alan McLoughlin's shot took wicked deflection off Gary Bennett - Swindon were later denied promotion due to financial irregularities meaning Sunderland went up instead.
Liverpool beat Second Division Sunderland 2-0, with goals from Michael Thomas and Ian Rush in front of 79,544 spectators at Wembley.
A thrilling match which ended 4-4 after extra time meaning the tie had to be settled on penalties. Local lad Micky Gray missed, sending Charlton to promotion.
Fabio Borini gave the Black Cats an early lead but stunning strikes from Yaya Toure (fluke?), Samir Nasri and Jesus Navas broke Sunderland hearts.
Another Wembley thriller - the game ended 2-2 after extra time only for Sunderland to lose on penalties again, this time it was Lee Cattermole who missed the crucial spot-kick.