Injured John O’Shea faces race to be fit for Ireland’s Euro 2016 play-off

John O'Shea
John O'Shea
Have your say

Sunderland defender John O’Shea faces a race to be fit for the Republic of Ireland’s provisional 39-man squad for the Euro 2016 qualifying play-off against Bosnia & Herzegovina.

The centre-half, who limped out of the Wear-Tyne derby with a hamstring strain, was sent off in the dying moments of Ireland’s 2-1 defeat against Poland earlier this month after picking up a second yellow card.

It means he will miss the first leg in Zenica on on Friday, November 13, but will be available for the second leg at Dublin’s Aviva Stadium three days later – if he’s fit enough.

The squad will be trimmed ahead of the group meeting on November 9, although Reading midfielder Stephen Quinn still remains unavailable through injury.

Republic manager Martin O’Neill said: “After finishing third in a difficult qualifying group, we enter into the play-offs against a very good team in Bosnia & Herzegovina.

“Our fate is in our own hands and we will be doing all that we can to qualify for next summer’s finals.

“We will play the second leg at the Aviva Stadium and that is a big plus for us because the Irish supporters were fantastic in our last game there against Germany and we know that there will be a similar atmosphere for this play-off.”

The Republic finished third in their qualifying group, four points behind world champions Germany and three points adrift of second-placed Poland.

Newcastle goalkeeper Rob Elliot has also been named in the provisional squad, having been called up for the Poland game after Shay Given picked up an injury against Germany.

Republic of Ireland squad to face Bosnia and Herzegovina: David Forde (Millwall), Shay Given (Stoke City), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Darren Randolph (West Ham United), Rob Elliot (Newcastle United), Richard Keogh (Derby County), Marc Wilson (Stoke City), Seamus Coleman (Everton), Cyrus Christie (Derby County), John O’Shea (Sunderland), Alex Pearce (Derby County), Shane Duffy (Blackburn Rovers), Ciaran Clark (Aston Villa), Paul McShane (Reading), Stephen Ward (Burnley), Greg Cunningham (Preston North End), Robbie Brady (Norwich City), James McCarthy (Everton), Jeff Hendrick (Derby County), Darron Gibson (Everton), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), Eunan O’Kane (Bournemouth), Glenn Whelan (Stoke City), Paul Green (Rotherham United), Aiden McGeady (Everton), James McClean (West Bromwich Albion), Alan Judge (Brentford), Anthony Pilkington (Cardiff City), David Meyler (Hull City), Jonathan Walters (Stoke City), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich City), Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy), Shane Long (Southampton), Daryl Murphy (Ipswich Town), Kevin Doyle (Colorado Rapids), Anthony Stokes (Celtic), David McGoldrick (Ipswich Town), Adam Rooney (Aberdeen), Simon Cox (Bristol City).