Cattermole beats Colback to be named player of year by football writers

AWARD: Cattermole.
AWARD: Cattermole.
Have your say

SUNDERLAND midfielder Lee Cattermole is the North East Football Writers’ Association’s player of the year 2014.

The former Middlesbrough and Wigan player beat his ex-Sunderland team-mate Jack Colback, who was second, and Middlesbrough captain Grant Leadbitter, who was third. All three have come through North East academies.

Middlesbrough’s England Under-21 international defender Ben Gibson has been named young player of the year, narrowly beating Boro team-mate Adam Reach, Newcastle defender Paul Dummett and former Hartlepool Luke James.

The North East Football Writers Player of the Year dinner will be held at the Ramside Hall Hotel on Sunday, November 30.

Former Sunderland captain Cattermole is the 32nd winner of the NEFWA player of the year award, following former Newcastle midfielder Yohan Cabaye, who won it last year.

The event at the Ramside will feature other awards and entertainment from former Carlisle boss Greg Abbott, currently number two to Shaun Derry at Notts County, and stand-up comedian Josh Daniels.