Sam Allardyce v Steve McClaren: Their head to head record

Steve McClaren and Sam Allardyce managing Middlesbrough and Bolton
Steve McClaren and Sam Allardyce managing Middlesbrough and Bolton
Have your say

Sam Allardyce and Steve McClaren are set to go head to head in the Wear-Tyne derby next week, but how have they fared against each other?

The two experienced managers have met on 12 occasions – mainly when they were in charge of Bolton Wanderers and Middlesbrough in the early 2000s.

Sam Allardyce and Steve McClaren

Sam Allardyce and Steve McClaren

Their most famous encounter was the Carling Cup final in 2004, which saw McClaren come out on top.

Since 2006 – when McClaren pipped Allardyce to the England job – they have come up against each other just once, in 2011, when Big Sam was in charge of West Ham United and McClaren had just taken over at Nottingham Forest.

McClaren has four wins under his belt, with Allardyce three, and there has been five draws.

August 21, 2001

Bolton Wanderers 1 Middlesbrough 0

This was only McClaren’s second game in charge of Boro, and they went down to a goal by Michael Rickets, who McClaren went on to sign two years later for £3.5million.

Can McClaren get revenge in Allardyce’s second game in charge with Sunderland?

January 19, 2002

Middlesbrough 1 Bolton 1

Stalemate at the Riverside as Bo Hansen cancelled out Noel Whelan’s strike for the home side.

October 5, 2002

Middlesbrough 2 Bolton 0

McClaren’s first success against his rival manager thanks to goals from centre-half Ugo Ehiogu and Geremi, who Allardyce would later sign for Newcastle.

May 11, 2003

Bolton 2 Middlesbrough 1

Allardyce needed victory to ensure his side stayed in the Premier League and they achieved it thanks to early goals from Henrik Pedersen and Jay-Jay Okocha’s sublime free-kick. Ex-Bolton star Ricketts came off the bench to reduce the arreas but Wanderers held on.

September 13, 2003

Bolton 2 Middlesbrough 0

Bolton secured their first win of the season in a scrappy game thanks to goals from Kevin Davies in the first half and substitute Bruno N’Gotty.

February 29, 2004

Bolton 1 Middlesbrough 2

McClaren’s finest moment as manager of Boro as they won the Carling Cup at Wembley, still the only piece of silverware in their 139-year history.

Joseph Desire-Job opened the scoring inside two minutes, Bolo Zenden made it 2-0 soon after from the penalty spot and although Davies pulled a goal back, it was McClaren who got the better of Allardyce.

April 3, 2004

Middlesbrough 2 Bolton 0

Just a few weeks after Wembley, the two sides met again in the Premier League. A Kevin Nolan own goal set Boro on their way to victory as he inadvertently guided Gaizka Mendieta’s corner into his own net. Jonathan Greening sealed the win after the break.

November 7, 2004

Middlesbrough 1 Bolton 1

George Boateng grabbed an equaliser in injury-time to earn Middlesbrough a point after Henrik Pedersen had given Bolton the lead.

February 12, 2005

Bolton 0 Middlesbrough 0

The only game to end goalless between the two managers.

March 26, 2006

Middlesbrough 4 Bolton 3

Stuart Parnaby’s late strike sealed the win for Middlesbrough after a rousing Bolton comeback. Wanderers took the lead when Stelios Giannakopoulos powered home, but Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink’s penalty levelled, then Mark Viduka and Hasselbaink put Boro in charge.

Okocha’s penalty made it 3-2 and Radhi Jaidi’s header looked to have secured a draw before Parnaby’s goal.

May 3, 2006

Bolton 1 Middlesbrough 1

Allardyce’s hopes of guiding the Trotters to seventh and a European spot were dented as they were held to a draw. Adam Johnson gave Boro the lead before Ricardo Vaz Te headed an equaliser. Newcastle eventually pipped Bolton to seventh while Boro lost in the final of the UEFA Cup in McClaren’s last game in charge of them.

August 28, 2011

Nottingham Forest 1 West Ham United 4

The last meeting between the two managers saw both men newly in charge of their respective clubs. McClaren was to resign as Forest boss just a few weeks later, while Allardyce stayed in charge of the Hammers for another four years. Kevin Nolan and Carlton Cole were among the scorers for West Ham.