West End no match for Ryhope in derby

Have your say

HIGH-flying Ryhope CW are just two points behind Wearside League leaders Stockton Town following last night’s 7-0 rout of fifth-top Sunderland West End.

There was again no stopping Martin Swales’ side once Chris Winn gave them a fourth-minute lead. By the interval, John Butler (2) and Nathan O’Neil (penalty) had just about put the game beyond the reach of West End.

Worse was to follow for the visitors in the second period. Butler completed his hat-trick, James Cook made it six with a fine solo effort and, right on the final whistle, Winn was again on target for his second goal of the night.

Ryhope have now notched up an incredible 48 goals in 10 games and, just as significant, they have conceded only four times.

Ashbrooke Belford House, with just one win and a draw from nine attempts, went down 3-0 to unpredictable visitors Jarrow, whose marksmen were Peter Kane, with a brace and sub Peter Bayliss.

Coxhoe Athletic claimed only their second point of the season, holding Harton and Westoe CW to a 2-2 draw on South Tyneside.

Adam Strong drove in on 32 minutes after Harton goalkeeper Alan Greenan had parried a shot, but, early in the second period, Jack Lawton levelled. Within four minutes David Hopper put the home side in front, but Jonathan Hornsby restored parity 12 minutes from time.

Boldon CA lost out to in-form Redcar Athletic, who have climbed into fourth place. Adam Preston was a fourth-minute scorer for the Seasiders and two minutes later they doubled their lead as David Halliday put the ball into his own net while attempting to clear.

With 11 minutes remaining, Gary Evans threw Boldon a lifeline, then, with almost the last kick of the game, he had the chance to level the scores but he failed to find the net.

Wolviston are sixth following an excellent performance to win 4-1 at Cleator Moor, who scored in the first minute through Callum Birdsall. The visitors quickly took control and the goals flowed from Anthony Brown, Shaun Gregory, James Rowe and Nick Matthews.