West are best

Have your say

SUNDERLAND West End climbed to fourth place in the Wearside League after edging out Annfield Plain in an eight-goal thriller last night.

It looked all over for the Plain when they twice trailed by three goals, but they kept fighting and only went down 5-3.

Barry Turton and John Coomber, with a brace, were on target for the Ford Quarry side before Grant Heslop reduced the deficit. Turton re-established a three-goals cushion only for Heslop to score again.

For a third time, the Wearsiders went three ahead courtesy of Keiran Martin. Although Adam Rowland struck for the visitors, West End were never seriously tested.

Ryhope CW maintained the pressure on leaders Stockton Town with a decisive 4-0 victory at Jarrow.

Martin Swales’ side had the incentive of an eighth-minute goal when Chris Winn struck from close range. Nathan O’Neil then headed in a free-kick and, on 33 minutes, Jarrow faced a formidable challenge as Nathan Johnson delivered a clinical finish from 20 yards which left home keeper Richard Swann helpless.

After conceding three goals in a little more than half an hour, Jarrow strengthened their defences and it wasn’t until the 89th minute that Ryhope captain Phil Hall headed the fourth goal following a corner.

Last season’s wooden spoonists, Silksworth CW, made it three wins out of five, defeating Horden CW 2-1.

Danny Flounders struck with an excellent shot from 18 yards for Horden, but the Wearsiders hit back impressively courtesy of Stephen Bagshaw and Neil Jones.

Boldon CA rallied to claim their second win in six attempts, 2-1 at Ashbrooke Belford House.

David Scott drove past Boldon keeper Stephen Halliday for Belford’s opener on 53 minutes but almost immediately Gary Evans restored parity and midway through the second half Eric Thompson’s free-kick proved to be the winner.

Ashbrooke had Alan Young sent off in the 75th minute.

Easington Colliery went down 3-0 at Wolviston, whose marksmen were Ben Bonner (2) and Carl Kennedy. Bonner was denied a hat-trick when his 70th-minute penalty was well saved at the foot of the post by Adam Heath.

There’s no stopping champions Stockton Town, who maintained their 100 per cent record with a 3-0 victory over Coxhoe Athletic. Stephen Roberts, Carlton McCabe and James Ward notched.

Harton and Westoe just edged hosts Prudhoe Town 5-4. David Soulsby (pen), Lee Best, Stephen Foster and Matthew Soulsby netted for Prudhoe, but David Hopper (2), Shaun Flood (2) and Philip Lawton steered Harton home in a memorable showdown.

Two goals in the final six minutes from Anthony Hubbard and Leon Kane earned Leam Rangers only their second point in seven games when they held Seaton Carew to a 3-3 draw.

Anthony Brewis was Leam’s other scorer.