Unstoppable Ryhope secure yet another trophy

Have your say

RYHOPE CW remain on course to repeat last season’s record-breaking performance when they won the Wearside League championship and the three domestic cup competitions.

A 3-1 win over Boldon CA yesterday enabled them to add the Monkwearmouth Charity Cup to the title and the Sunderland Shipowners’ Cup which had already been secured.

Following a goalless opening half, there was a setback for Martin Swales’ side when Shaun Reay delivered a clinical finish with a free-kick from outside the penalty area.

Within 10 minutes though Ryhope were level. Leading scorer John Butler was brought down and James Dunn gave Boldon goalkeeper Dale Wells no chance from the spot.

Ryhope then went ahead for the first time when Martin Metcalfe made a good run down the left and his cross was slotted into the net from close-range by Nathan O’Neil.

With 10 minutes remaining Boldon’s chances just about ended as O’Neil fired in from the edge of the penalty area.

The trophy was presented by Wearside League chairman Peter Maguire to Ryhope captain Phil Hall.

On Saturday, the Wearsiders aim to make it four trophy wins when they travel to Stockton Town for the Final of the Wearside League Cup. Stockton were in action yesterday when they defeated Annfield Plain 3-1 to finish third and end the hopes of Sunderland West End.

Chris Stockton bagged a brace of goals with Michael Arthur also on target while Scott Wallace was Annfield’s only marksman.