Table-toppers Ryhope smash Darlington for six

Have your say

DIVISION Two leaders Ryhope CW hit Darlington RA for six to maintain their impressive push for a second successive promotion.

John Butler rifled a hat-trick for the rampant Wearsiders, with Phil Hall, Chris Trewick and Chris Winn also beating goalkeeper Matt Calvert. RA’s only reply was a Paul Freary penalty.

Second-placed Crook Town also secured a 6-1 victory at home to Thornaby whose marksman was Liam O’Mahoney.

Warren Byrne, with a brace, Chris Wallace, Ian Maddison, Kyle Davis and David Paul all struck for the Millfield men who remain five points behind Ryhope CW with a game in hand.

Seaham Red Star are now level on points with third-top Northallerton Town. Mark Collingwood’s side enjoyed a comfortable win over Ryton and Crawcrook Albion building up a three-goal lead thanks to Alan Pegram, Kevin Gordon and Chris Scott before Brian Dodsworth replied.

At the other end of the table Horden CW are second-bottom. They held promotion hopefuls Whitehaven at half-time, but conceded four goals in the second period to Kevin Connelly, Craig Robson, Paul Brown and Sam Smith who converted a penalty awarded for a foul by goalkeeper Grant McIver.

The keeper was sent off and Michael Watson’s first task was to pick the ball out of the net.

In the opening half, Lee Bishop gave the Colliers the lead and after Stuart Shaw and Stephen Hodgson (og) gained the initiative for the Cumbrians, Horden’s hopes rose with Peter Crawford’s equaliser, but the home team wilted after the break.

Anthony Myers, David Palmer and Daniel Smart (pen) earned Jarrow Roofing an easy victory at home to Brandon United and Stokesley SC were the biggest scorers of the day when they put seven goals past Whickham.

Ross Hodgson (2), Gary Redman, Derek Bradley (2), Mark McManus and Adam Foley netted for the home side, Scott Swanson (2) responded.