Ryhope’s 10 men ousted in extra-time drama

Have your say

RYHOPE CW bowed out of the Ernest Armstrong Memorial Cup when Northallerton won last night’s second round tie 5-3 after extra time, writes MALCOLM PRATT.

Phil Hall gave the Wearsiders an early lead and after Michael Dunwell levelled, John Butler again fired Martin Swales’ team in front.

Ryhope had Greg Swansbury sent off, but, despite their numerical disadvantage, they held on until the 80th minute when Dunwell struck.

Craig Marron converted a penalty early in extra time for the visitors, but 10-man Ryhope wilted and Adam Emson, Carl Chillingsworth and an own goal booked Northallerton’s place in round three.

Washington progressed, beating North Shields 1-0.

Lee Hamilton helped on a right-wing corner and John Wears headed past keeper Shaun McCafferty in the 11th minute.

In the Second Division, table-toppers Crook Town’s long, unbeaten sequence was ended by a 3-1 defeat at Morpeth Town.

Stephen Anderson and Michael Chilton had Morpeth in front, but, on the stroke of half-time, Warren Byrne replied.

In the 58th minute, Morpeth’s Andrew Wright and Crook’s David Hall were sent off, and the visitors also had Kyle Davis red-carded in the final minute, after Anderson sealed Morpeth’s victory.

Jarrow Roofing are now only a point behind second-top Ryhope CW following a goalless draw at Stokesley SC.

In Division One of the Ebac Northern League, Bedlington Terriers and improving Newton Aycliffe fought out a goalless draw.