Peterlee out, but no place for Murton

Have your say

PETERLEE Town have resigned from the Wearside League, but Murton CW have failed in a bid to return to the league.

Town are understood to owe the league money, amid rumours of difficulties with the local town council, who own Eden Lane. Ebac Northern League club South Shields are set to play at Peterlee in the new season.

Peterlee’s management team of Paul Frame and Craig Parkinson have taken over neighbours Easington Colliery, aiming to resurrect the club who finished second bottom in the season just finished.

Horden CW, relegated from the Northern League, have been accepted into the Wearside League, but applicants Murton, from the Durham Alliance League, missed out in a vote because of the uncertainty surrounding the future of Ryhope CW, who have appealed against their enforced relegation.

The league, with 21 clubs involved at the moment, will start their new season on August 3.

George McKitterick stood down as secretary and Kevin Harrison will combine the role with that of fixture secretary.

The league also presented a cheque for £1,000 to Monkwearmoth Hospital, where the AGM was held.

Officials elected – immediate past president Bill Robson; chairman Peter Maguire; vice-chairman Mel Speding; secretary and fixture secretary Kevin Harrison; treasurer Sean Rooks; assistant secretary James Johnson; chartered standard/welfare officer Sue Topping; management committee: Marshall Lawson (Annfield Plain), Kevin Oliver (Boldon CA), Paul McLachlan (Darlington CB), Kevin Butler (Sunderland West End), Peter Smith (Silksworth CW), Chris Lowther (Prudhoe Town).