Meadow men away at the double

editorial image
Have your say

SUNDERLAND RCA have been handed away trips in both the FA Cup and FA Vase for the forthcoming season.

David Lee’s Meadow Park men must head to Ebac Northern League First Division rivals Bishop Auckland in the first stage of the FA Cup – the extra preliminary round – on Saturday, August 16, the second weekend of the new campaign.

If they get through that test, RCA will entertain either Jarrow Roofing or Yorkshire outfit Eccleshill United.

In the Vase, RCA are away to Second Division Darlington RA in the first qualifying round on September 6.

Neighbours Ryhope CW are also in Vase action, with the newly-promoted Wearside League runners-up given a tough task at Jarrow Roofing in the weekend draw.

The winners of that tie will be at home to Lancashire team Barnoldswick Town or Tow Law Town.

Washington have been given a bye into the second qualifying round, but Steve Hutchinson’s men face a tough task at Lancashire club AFC Darwen. Seaham Red Star join at the same stage and visit Esh Winning, while Durham City, under the management of multi Vase winner Ian Chandler, await the winners of the tie between Holker Old Boys and Norton and Stockton Ancients.

FA Cup, extra preliminary round (Auguist 16): Bishop Auckland v Sunderland RCA, Pickering Town v Washington, Seaham Red Star v Liversedge , Billingham Synthonia v Durham City, Shildon v Crook Town, Silsden v Consett, Bridlington Town v Whitley Bay, Morpeth Town v Dunston UTS, Jarrow Roofing v Eccleshill United, Nelson v West Auckland Town, Guisborough Town v Armthorpe Welfare, Hebburn Town v West Allotment Celtic, Whickham v Bacup & Rossendale Borough, Holker Old Boys v Ashington, North Shields v Pontefract Collieries, Marske United v Billingham Town, Newcastle Benfield v Penrith, Newton Aycliffe v Garforth Town

Preliminary round (August 30): Bishop Auckland or Sunderland RCA v Jarrow Roofing or Eccleshill United, Bridlington Town or Whitley Bay v Northallerton Town or Colne, Clitheroe v Seaham Red Star or Liversedge, Glasshoughton Welfare or Knaresborough Town v Hebburn Town or West Allotment Celtic, Guisborough Town or Armthorpe Welfare v Marske United or Billingham Town, Morpeth Town or Dunston UTS v Billingham Synthonia or Durham City, Nelson or West Auckland Town v Darlington 1883, Newton Aycliffe or Garforth Town v Harrogate RA, Tadcaster Albion or Barnoldswick Town v Spennymoor Town, Newcastle Benfield or Penrith v Kendal Town, Padiham v Shildon or Crook Town, Pickering Town or Washington v Lancaster City, Scarborough Athletic v North Shields or Pontefract Collieries, Silsden or Consett v Whickham or Bacup & Rossendale Borough, Thackley or Albion Sports v Holker Old Boys or Ashington

First qualifying round (September 14) includes: Nelson or West Auckland Town or Darlington 1883 v Blyth Spartans

FA Vase, first qualifying round (September 6): Jarrow Roofing v Ryhope CW, Darlington RA v Sunderland RCA, Chester-le-Street v Knaresborough Town, South Shields v Willington, Consett v Thackley, Barnoldswick Town v Tow Law Town, Silsden v Brandon United, Birtley Town v Thornaby, Daisy Hill v Newton Aycliffe, Hebburn Town v Marske United, Holker Old Boys v Norton and Stockton Ancients, Northallerton Town v North Shields, West Allotment Celtic v Eccleshill United, Ryton & Crawcrook Albion v Billingham Town

Second qualifying round (October 4): Esh Winning v Seaham Red Star, AFC Darwen v Washington, Darlington RA or Sunderland RCA v Crook Town, Bishop Auckland v Birtley Town or Thornaby, Holker Old Boys or Norton and Stockton Ancients or Durham City, Whitley Bay v South Shields or Willington, Jarrow Roofing or Ryhope CW v Barnoldswick Town or Tow Law Town. Hebburn Town or Marske United v Chester-le-Street or Knaresborough Town, Hall Road Rangers v Consett or Thackley, Alnwick Town v Pickering Town, Stokesley SC v Northallerton Town or North Shields, Daisy Hill or Newton Aycliffe v Albion Sports or Bridlington Town, Silsden or Brandon United v Garforth Town, Bedlington Terriers v Liversedge, Colne or Penrith v Heaton Stannington, Billingham Synthonia v Celtic Nation, West Allotment Celtic or Eccleshill United v Nelson, Ryton & Crawcrook Albion or Billingham Town v Yorkshire Amateur