Martin Swales faces injury problems ahead of Wearside League showdown

Have your say

RYHOPE CW manager Martin Swales anxiously awaits news on the fitness of four players before being naming his side for tomorrow’s crucial fixture at Coxhoe Athletic.

John Butler is a definite absentee, while Richie Jordan, Martin Metcalfe, John Toomey and Neil Moan will all undergo late checks.

Ryhope are nine points adrift of leaders Easington Colliery, and are favourites against second-bottom Coxhoe. Manager Phil Laverick adds Paul Orton and Christian Schofield to his squad.

Easington face a difficult task at Redcar Athletic, even though the Teessiders will again be understrength. James Smuk, Andrew Porritt, Steve Thompson, Roy Hunter and Jamie Lee are all out, but home boss Steve Watson hopes to name Andy Bell, Craig Skelton and Greg Booth.

Following their midweek victory at Windscale, Easington boss Andy Colledge delays announcing his line-up.

Silksworth are severely depleted for the visit of Hartlepool.

Manager Steven Smith misses Anthony Mustard, John McLean, David McKinlay, Paul Carr, Michael Smith and Anthony Rogerson.

Houghton Town will hand a debut to Jake Croft against Boldon CA at Leyburn Grove, but Daley Clark and Andrew Gartland are doubrful.

Ashbrooke Belford House travel down the A19 to New Marske, who, although 12 points adrift of table-topping Easington, have three games in hand on the Colliers.

Manager Tommy Dobbing reports that captain Kenny Taylor, Martin Deacon, Chris Charlton and Alan Young all come into his plans.

New Marske welcome back Marc Dawson, while Michael Makin and Danny Wilkinson are expected to be passed fit.

Bottom side Prudhoe Town have no selection worries at home to Willington, who will need to find a goalkeeper before kick-off. Chris Sawyer recently joined Horden CW and his replacement, Andrew Stocks, has suffered a hand injury which could keep him out for some time.

Jarrow host Windscale in the League Cup quarter-finals. Home boss Dave Bell is pleased to have Peter Kirkham, Chris McDonald and Stephen Cockburn in contention.