Golightly hails Amos’ hard work for the Northern League cause

editorial image
Have your say

CHAIRMAN Mike Amos received a standing ovation when he was presented with the Arthur Clark Memorial Trophy at the Ebac Northern League Annual Dinner held in the Ramside Hall Hotel, Durham.

In making the presentation secretary Tony Golightly said: “Mike has done an amazing job as we have celebrated 125 years but day in, day out he is working on behalf of the League.”

Guisborough Town’s Chris Hardy was named Manager of the Year and the unsung hero award went to Alan Hamilton of Darlington RA with Mike Taylor (North Shields) and Ron Surrey (Chester-le-Street) highly commended. Kevin McKitterick from Ryhope was named the Division Two’s Referee of the Year. First Division officials are appointed by the FA.

Gareth Bainbridge, who had an outstanding season scoring nearly 50 goals for Second Division Champions North Shields, was the Player of the Year and Daniel Johnson lifted the Bob Moreland Young Player of the Year and BBC Newcastle Player of the Year awards.

The following presentations were also made: First Division Champions Spennymoor Town £2000, runners up Celtic Nation £1500, third Shildon £1000, fourth Guisborough Town £750.

Second Division Champions North Shields £1200, runners up West Allotment Celtic £800, third Jarrow Roofing £600, fourth Seaham Red Star £400.

Individual top scorer Division One Daniel Johnson, Guisborough Town 45 goals. Division Two Gareth Bainbridge, North Shields, 47 goals.

The Secret Shopper Awards sponsored by Ebac, Celtic Nation £1000, Billingham Synthonia £800, Whitley Bay £700, Guisborough Town and Consett £500. Eight other clubs were also recognised in the competition which aims to stamp out foul and abusive language both on and off the field by clubs.

Nine clubs each received a cheque for £400 when they went through the entire season without suffering a single administration penalty. They were Alnwick Town, Brandon United, Darlington RA, Heaton Stannington, Hebburn Town, Marske United, North Shields, Tow Law Town and Whickham.

Eleven Clubs, six in Division One and five in the Second Division, each received £150 for having incurred fines of £25 or less.

The Fair Play Awards, based on on-field discipline were: Division One Newcastle Benfield, Billingham Synthonia, Dunston UTS, Ashington. Division Two: Birtley Town, Northallerton Town, Ryton and Crawcrook Albion, Darlington RA.

The bank balances of clubs who made it to the later stages of the two domestic cup competitions were also boosted. In the Brooks Mileson Memorial Cup Marske United were winners with Whitley Bay runners up. Ashington and Whitehaven reached the semi finals while Brandon United and Guisborough Town, Tow Law Town and Bishop Auckland went through to the quarter finals.

Jarrow Roofing lifted the Ernest Armstrong Memroial Cup with Washington runners up and North Shields and Heaton Stannington beaten semi finalists.

Following the awards the former Liverpool and England fullback Phil Neal was the speaker.