Battling Belford hit back

Have your say

ASHBROOKE Belford House became only the third side this season to deny Ryhope CW full points when they came from behind to claim a draw on Saturday, in the Wearside League.

It looked as if Garry Errington’s side was on course for another win when they roared into a two-goal lead by the 26th minute.

James Cook and Chris Winn both beat Ashbrooke goalkeeper Brett Wilson, but, as the opening half progressed, the visitors were more prominent.

Two minutes before the interval, Mark Green reduced the deficit from the penalty spot and a minute into the second half Ian Potts levelled for Asa Dobbing’s side.

Silksworth CW are seventh-top following a four-goal romp at Boldon CA, where they finished strongly.

Robert Taylor’s 10th-minute goal was all that separated the sides until the final 20 minutes when the Colliers struck three times through Anthony Robertson (2) and James Hepinstall.

Coxhoe Athletic leapfrogged Leam Rangers and are now second off the bottom following an easy victory over Jarrow, who were first to score through Liam Bayles.

A brace from Chris Baxter had Coxhoe in front by the interval and late in the match Ben Haddock and Kyle Scott cemented their team’s second win of the season.

After Steven Graham had equalised with a superb 25-yard free-kick following Kai Hewitson’s opener for Prudhoe Town, Harton conceded the winner when Hewitson struck from the penalty spot.

Easington Colliery progressed in the League Cup with a four-goal blitz of Ann-field Plain, who never recovered after leaking the opening goal to Bryan Norton.

Two goals in as many minutes by Luke Page and Dale Spence sealed the fate of the visitors, who conceded a fourth to Spence in the dying minutes.

Hartlepool went out to Richmond Town, who built up a two-goal cushion thanks to Ben Darville and Gary Shardha before Callum Sweeney threw Pool a lifeline with a superb finish.

Cleator Moor Celtic were comfortable 2-0 winners at home to Leam Rangers, with Bradley Rooney and Adam Telfer their match-winners.

Sunderland West End succumbed to Seaton Carew in the Shipowners’ Cup.

Mattie Kelsey was an early marksman for the Seasiders ,but a couple of goals in three minutes from John Coomber and Barry Turton had Andy Colledge’s side in front.

Terry Wilkinson hauled Seaton level and on 68 minutes Craig Hutchinson scored the winner from the spot after Dale Campion had been brought down.

Wolviston were the biggest scorers of the day when they defeated Northern Alliance club Birtley St Josephs 7-1 in the Durham Trophy. Robbie McIlroy, with a hat-trick, James Brodie-Myers, Lee Butterworth, Ryan Hebb and Craig Ferguson scored with Anthony Smith Birtley’s sole marksman.