Barclays Premier League fixtures revealed: Manchester United start at West Brom, Newcastle host Arsenal, Swansea visit Manchester City on opening day

Manchester United celebrate winning last season's Barclays Premier League.
Manchester United celebrate winning last season's Barclays Premier League.
Have your say

MANCHESTER United will start their defence of their Barclays Premier League title with a trip to West Brom.

Sir Alex Ferguson's men are at The Hawthorns on August 13, with their next two games at Old Trafford against Spurs and Arsenal.

The champions round off the campaign on May 13 with a match at Sunderland.

The Gunners start with a match at Newcastle - a contest which finished in a 4-4 draw last season - while a testing opening continues with a home game against Liverpool before the trip to Old Trafford.

Chelsea, last season's runners-up, travel to Stoke on the opening day, before taking on West Brom at Stamford Bridge.

Liverpool start their campaign at home to Sunderland, meaning Reds midfielder Jordan Henderson will get an immediate match against the team he supported and played for, prior to his recent big money move to Anfield.

The Black Cats' opening home match is against arch-rivals Newcastle the following weekend.

Manchester City's first match is at home to Swansea, who made sure of their place in the top flight with a play-off final win over Reading last month.

Wigan provide the first home opposition for Swansea, meaning a return for former boss Roberto Martinez - who left south Wales for the Latics a little more than two years ago.

The Swans have an appealing final day fixture, with Liverpool visiting The Liberty Stadium on May 13.

Of the other Premier League newcomers, QPR open with a home match against Bolton, while Norwich travel to Wigan.

Elsewhere on the opening day, Tottenham and Everton meet at White Hart Lane, Fulham and Aston Villa face each other at Craven Cottage, while Blackburn host Wolves.