Scott Borthwick and Ben Stokes called up for England Lions

Have your say

DURHAM young guns Scott Borthwick and Ben Stokes have been called up for England Lions.

Sunderland-born Borthwick and all-rounder Stokes have been named in a 12-man squad to face Sri Lanka A in a three-match one-day series.

Highly-talented spinner Borthwick, has also been named in the Lions squad for a four-day match against the tourists.

The call-up is a real boon for the leg-spinner, who has featured in all but one of Durham’s County Championship games this season.

Borthwick spent last winter out in Australia and got to work alongside spin legend Shane Warne, as well as working with England coach Mushtaq Ahmed.

The call-up does cause problems for Durham, though, as it means Borthwick will miss crucial county championship games against Nottinghamshire and Hampshire, while Stokes will be unavailable for the latter of those two encounters.

For Stokes, the call-up means a return to the Lions fold, where he spent last winter on a tour of the West Indies.

There had been talk of the big-hitting youngster forcing his way into the full England set-up earlier in the season after some excellent form with the bat. Stokes has hit 609 runs in the County Championship so far this season, hitting three centuries and averaging 50.75, but he bnroke a finger and has been out of action for eight weeks.

Stokes could get an early look at the tourists tomorrow when a Durham XI take on Sri Lanka A at the Emirates ICG.

Four-day squad: James Taylor (Leicestershire) (capt.); Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire); Ravi Bopara (Essex); Scott Borthwick (Durham); Jack Brooks (Northants); Jade Dernbach (Surrey); Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire); James Harris (Glamorgan); Craig Kieswetter (Somerset); Stuart Meaker (Surrey); Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire); Joe Root (Yorkshire)

One-day squad: James Taylor (Leicestershire) (capt.); Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire); Ravi Bopara (Essex); Scott Borthwick (Durham); Danny Briggs (Hampshire); Steven Finn (Middlesex); Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire); James Harris (Glamorgan); Stuart Meaker (Surrey); Chris Nash (Sussex)

Ben Stokes (Durham); Chris Woakes (Warwickshire).