Hartlepool umpire Michael Gough among match officials selected for ICC Cricket World Cup 2015

SELECTION: Michael Gough.
SELECTION: Michael Gough.
Have your say

HARTLEPOOL umpire Michael Gough has been included in a 25-member match officials’ team for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015.

The former Durham County cricketer has risen quickly through the umpiring ranks and will jet out to Australia and New Zealand in the new year with the rest of the officials.

The team includes five officials from the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees, 12 umpires from the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires and eight umpires from the Emirates International Panel of ICC Umpires.

Gough is on the international panel along with Johan Cloete, Simon Fry, Chris Gaffaney, Ranmore Martinesz, Ruchira Palliyaguru, S.Ravi and Joel Wilson

Officials say the eight umpires from the international panel have been identified as emerging and talented match officials, who have already officiated at international level.

The match referees are: David Boon, Chris Broad, Jeff Crowe, Ranjan Madugalle and Roshan Mahanama and the elite panel umpires are: Aleem Dar, Billy Bowden, Bruce Oxenford, Ian Gould, Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus, Nigel Llong, Paul Reiffel, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Rod Tucker and Steve Davis.

The umpires were chosen by the selection panel of Geoff Allardice (ICC General Manager – Cricket), Ranjan Madugalle (ICC Chief Match Referee), David Lloyd (former player, coach, umpire and now television commentator) and Srinivas Venkataraghavan (former elite panel umpire).

The tournament runs from February 14 to March 29 and officials say match appointments will be announced closer to the warm-up matches.