Eppleton’s perfect 10 in title delight

Have your say

EPPLETON Under-11s completed the perfect 10 to be crowned Durham Cricket Board Central Division champions yesterday.

The Church Road club made it 10 wins out of 10 in the league with a 19-run home success against Washington.

Eppleton were put into bat on a wet wicket and posted 114-4, with Kristian Jefferson top-scoring on 23 backed by captain Layla Tipton (20no) and Josh Hutchinson (15). Kelsey Potter, Nathan Palmer, Matthew Clements and Matthew Ward all struck for the visitors.

Washington were then restricted to 95-8, despite 19 from Nathan Palmer and 14 apiece from Harvey Day and Clements, with Jake Pratt (3-4) the pick of the bowlers, supported by Ryan Wardle (2-18) and Josh Hutchinson (2-28).

* See tonight’s Sunderland Echo for a team picture of Eppleton’s championship winners