Durham pipped by Derbyshire in Second Xi Trophy final

Have your say

Derbyshire pipped Durham by 10 runs to win the Second XI Trophy in last night’s final at the Emirates ICG.

The visitors posted 247-8, batting first in the 50-over final, with Wes Durston (41) and Ben Slater (45) putting on 70 for the first wicket, when the Derbyshire skipper fell to a superb Barry McCarthy catch off the bowling of Gurman Randhawa.

Slater and Chesney Hughes (69) added 67, but Durham’s bowlers then took control, with the visitors losing five wickets for just 24 runs before Matt Critchley and Tom Milnes rallied with an unbeaten ninth-wicket partnership of 29.

George Harding (2-27) and James Weighell (2-47) were the top bowlers, with McCarthy, Jamie Harrison and Randhawa also pouncing.

Durham’s first five batsmen all got starts, but no-one could produce a match-winning knock. Skipper Keaton Jennings made 26, Phil Mustard 31, Graham Clark 23, Calum Macleod 41 off 62 balls and Stuart Poynter 35 off 41.

The loss of Macleod and Dylan Budge in successive balls from Tom Taylor rocked Durham, with Weighell (37 off 23 balls) attempting to retrieve the situation, aided by McCarthy (15 off 17).

The loss of wickets, with Randhawa out going for a reverse sweep, left Durham needing 16 runs off the final over, but they were never close to making the runs and Harding was caught off the last ball – as Durham closed on 237 all out –to spark Derbyshire’s celebrations of their first Second XI Trophy since 1987.