Durham Cricket League: Seaham Park determined to end 51-year championship wait

Have your say

Seaham Park need just seven more points to be crowned Second Division champions.

But they will not be taking anything for granted, as skipper Michael McNicholas explained. “We’ll probably spend the week looking at weather forecast,” he said.

“The club have not won a league title since 1964.

“Having lost the league twice in the last 10 years, going into the last game with a comfortable lead, I can assure you there won’t be any complacency.

“It’s been a fantastic season with everyone playing their part, but the undoubted star has been our professional, Siddharth Chitnis.

“He’s been simply brilliant and different class with over 1,500 league and cup runs at a strike rate of 120, and 80 league and cup wickets. Needless to say, we will be trying our best to retain him, although we could face competition given the season he’s had.”

Only Thomas Ferguson is missing from the final day line-up to play at Houghton, with Ian Cassop coming in to replace him against a team who have suffered 21 defeats in 23 games.

Burnopfield, already promoted alongside Park, close at home to mid-table Littletown, who have given a good account of themselves in their first DCL season.

Gareth Breese, Burnopfield’s dominant force, is not too worried that his side is likely to miss out on the title, saying: “Our primary goal was to get promoted, and that has been achieved, so we’re all very happy. We can now start planning for next season as it will obviously be very competitive at the higher level.”