Dazzler Dominic helps Sacriston to silverware

Sacriston U15s, winners of the Ken Ferguson Trophy
Sacriston U15s, winners of the Ken Ferguson Trophy
Have your say

SACRISTON won the inaugural Ken Ferguson Memorial U15s Trophy, with a final success against Washington at Eppleton.

The Newtowners won the toss and elected to bowl, but opener Dominic Scott (34), Nathan Hall (25) and Charlie Winn (25) steered Sacriston to 125-5, with Potter (2-28) and Sam Hardy (1-17) the pick of Washington’s bowlers.

Matthew Potts was caught by keeper Thomas Ludlow for 20 in the most crucial wicket in Washington’s reply. Hardy added 20 and Avis 18, but Scott – voted player of the match by umpires John Crockatt and Allan Blackbird – snaffled 3-22 and Hall took 3-27 to deny the Harraton club, who were all out for 80.

In the Durham Cricket Board’s U15 Junior League, Ben Markham’s 41, supported by Matthew Glover (19) helped Whitburn to 93-3 before they skittled neighbours South Shields for 68 in the North East Division, with only Elliott Campbell (19) making double figures. Glover (4-10) and Nathan Donkin (2-15) led Whitburn’s bowlers.

Easington saw off Horden by 18 runs in the South East Division. They totalled 88-7, with M. Brown making 31, before Horden were all out for 70 despite 33 from Jake McCoy. G. Akers bagged 3-20.

Daniel Stephenson retired on 55, after five sixes, with Nathan Hall (42no) and Jason Embleton (35no) guiding Sacriston to 145-0 in the Central Division.

Burnmoor were then sent back for just 43, with C. O’Neil and M.Rowell top-scoring on eight apiece. Solomon Bell pounced for 3-7, while Callum Dodds and Matthew Jackson both struck twice.

Eppleton defeated Sunderland by 10 wickets.

The Ashbrooke lads scored 72-5 off 20 overs, led by Daniel Harrision (28) and Louis Dinsdale (18), with Liam Smiles (2-11) and Jake Pratt (2-7) striking for Eppleton.

Eppleton knocked off the score in 10.1 overs with Charlie Ord hitting an unbeaten 46, backed by Joe Blacklock (23no).