Timmins is on the right track

Have your say

IT was third time lucky for Lewis Timmins who triumphed in last night’s Sunderland 5k Road Race at Silksworth Sports Complex.

He headed a quality field to take his first North East 5k championship title after being slowed by a blustery wind that stopped him from beating the 15-minute barrier.

The Morpeth Harrier got the better of his clubmate Nick Swinburn by four seconds to win the event in 15.00 minutes exactly.

The women’s race was won by Wallsend Harrier Dannielle Hodgkinson, who led all the way to take the title in 17.28 in beating Jarrow and Hebburn’s Angela Hibbs into second place (17.44).

Clubmate Alec Snook was third in 17.54. Hodgkinson, who finshed 46th overall, had improved on her second place of 2010 when she clocked 17.13.

Timmins, who finished third last year and eighth in 2010, said: “I got past Nick with about 2k to the finish. It’s nice to get back to winning again. This race always attracts a good field and you have to be at the top of your form to win here.”

The Durham City pair of talented young runners, Michael Grimes (15.14) and James Askew (15.18), filled third and fourth positions.

Sunderland Harriers were led home by three times winner of the race Mark Hood who finished fifth in 15.30 and Kevin Calvert ran well for sixth in 15.37. Morpeth’s Neil Wilkinson was first veteran to finish in seventh (15.38).

Sunderland Harriers had another two runners in the top 20 in Nathan Reed in15th in a personal best of 16.16 and Craig Isherwood who also clocked his fastest time for the distance with 16.26 for 19th.

Just ahead of Isherwood was the Sunderland Marathon of the North winner Paul Wilson of Hartlepool Burn Road Harriers who recorded 16.24 for 18th. A field of 249 finished the race.

Results: 1 Lewis Timmins (Morp) 15.00, 2 Nick Swinburn (Morp) 15.04, 3 Michael Grimes (Dur) 15.14, 4 James Askew (Dur) 15.18, 5 Mark Hood (Sun Harr) 15.30, 6 Kevin Calvert (Sun Harr) 15.37, 7 Neil Wilkinson V40 (Mor) 15.38, 8 Mark McLeod (Els) 15.54, 9 Gregory Jayasuriya (Midds) 15.56, 10 Andy Burn (Jarr & Heb) 15.57, 11 Harry Coates (Walls) 16.03, 12 Chris Smith (Walls) 16.04, 13 Tom Danby (New Marske) 16.05, 14 Brendan McMillan (Claremont) 16.07 15 Nathan Reed (Sun Harr) 16.16, 16 Keith Smith V45 (Tyne Br) 16.21, 17 Lee Bennett V40 (Els) 16.22, 18 Paul Wilson (Hartle) 16.24, 19 Craig Isherwood (Sun Harr) 16.26, 20 Brian Hetherington V45 (Walls) 16.29.

Women: 1 Danielle Hodgkinson (Walls) 17.28, 2 Angela Hibbs (Jarr & Heb) 17.44, 3 Alex Snook (Jar & Heb) 17.54, 4 Carolyn Summersgill (Mid) 17.57, 5 Lorna Young (Heat) 17.57, 6 Tracey Waller W40 (Hart) 18.32, 7 Joanne Lee (Tyne) 18.38, 8 Clare McManusW45 (NSP) 18.40, 9 Vicky Hindson (Walls) 18.42, 10 Chris Herkes (Dur) 18.53. 11 Chloe Price (Dur) 18.56, 12 Elaine Leslie W40 (Jar &Heb) 19.00.