Sunderland Harriers make Gibside Fruit Bowl race impact

Sunderland Harrier Michele Avery
Sunderland Harrier Michele Avery
Have your say

Four Sunderland Harriers were among the prize winners in yesterday’s Blackhill Bounders Gibside Fruit Bowl trail race.

Michael Barker finished third in the race, Michele Avery was third woman, Paul Redman was third over-50 and Vince Emmett was second over-60.

Sunderland Harrier Paul Redman

Sunderland Harrier Paul Redman

In-form Barker, who in previous weeks had finished first in the Penshaw Pieces of Eight trail race and followed that with second in last week’s Hell Hole event at Stanley, clocked 42min 14sec for the challenging Gibside course of just over six miles.

Ahead of him was the host club’s Gary Wallace (40.12) and Morpeth’s John Butters (40.47).

Avery (50.27) saw Emma Holt (Morpeth), with a time of 45.00, and Heaton’s Hannah Shillitoe (50.01), take the first two places in the women’s race.

Paul Redman finished 26th overall to clock 46.49 for his third Over-50 place and Emmett recorded 56.24 for his Over-60s runners-up position, 27 seconds behind winner Charles Hall.

Callum Greig of Run Peterlee finished 14th (45.05), while Sunderland Stroller Tim Allsop was 21st (46.01), Kevin O’Neil was 47th (49.50), Anthony Tiernan 78th (54.26) and Dale Wilkinson finished 83rd (54.59).

Houghton Harriers won the David Sharpe club trophy in the Jarrow and Hebburn AC Minors Cross Country races at Bedewell Park on Saturday.

The Wearsiders won two team races and placed third in another to beat Chester-le-Street.

Houghton won the year four girls’ race, with Emily Powell third, Maja Sztencell eighth and Maisie Burdon 10th. They also placed Jordy Armstrong ninth, Ben Davidson 12th and Tymon Sztencell 13th to win the Year Six Boys’ team race.

Lucy Hayes finished eighth, Connie James 10th and Lexie Ellis 21st in the Year Six race to finish third team.

Tom Pigford was second in the Year Four boys’ race and Sophie Leonard was sixth in the Year Five girls’ race.

Sunderland Harriers had Harry Clay as runner-up in the Year Five boys’ race.