Dixon edged out by Twell

Andy Powell
Andy Powell
Have your say

SUNDERLAND Stroller Alyson Dixon found Olympian Steph Twell a bit too hot to handle in the Brighton 10k yesterday.

Dixon, a former marathon winner in Brighton and defending her 10k title, finished runner-up.

Dixon clocked 33.35 to finish 240 yards behind the Aldershot athlete (32.49), who finished 14 seconds outside Dixon’s course record.

She clocked 33.35 to finish 240 yards behind the Aldershot athlete (32.49), who finished 14 seconds outside Dixon’s course record.

In third place was Preston’s former British middle distance stalwart Helen Clitheroe (34.10).

Morpeth’s Jonny Taylor clocked a personal best of 29.13 to win the men’s race.

Sunderland Harriers had a big turnout in the Blyth 10k yesterday and they were rewarded by getting among the prizes. The race was won by Morpeth’s Chris Smith (32.15).

The Wearsiders’ first prize winner was Andy Powell in eighth (33.19). Next home for the royal blue vests were Steve Potts in 12th (34.25), Steve Rankin was 17th (34.43), Steve McMahon 21st (34.52) and Michael Laws 22nd (34.55).

Peter Richardson was first over-60 in 153rd (41.20).

The team finished runners-up to Morpeth with Tyne Bridge third in the three-to-count team race.

Sunderland Stroller Paul Roper was first over-55 in 104th (38.59). There were 558 finishers.

The Sunderland Harriers’ women’s team finished tenth with Michelle Avery 18th woman (41.51), Caroline Fleetwood 57th and Rachael Moore 62nd. The B team were 20th with April Jones second over-50 in 71st, Helen Higgins 72nd and Susan Clughen second over-55 in 110th.

The Strollers finished 24th with Lyne Valentine first over-60 (44.04) in 29th, Katie Hedley 105th and Susan Edwards 152nd.

Gateshead Harrier Michelle Nolan won the women’s race in 36.39.

Morpeth Harriers won the National12-stage Road Relay for the first time at Sutton Coldfield on Saturday. They beat Notts AC by 74 seconds over the revamped course after taking the lead on the third leg. They were never headed again. Lewis Timmins and Nick Swinburn were their joint fastest long leg runners with 27.35. Quickest on the short leg was Richard Morrell with 15.52 and former Sunderland Harrier Kevin Calvert contributed a 15.57 circuit on the fourth leg.

Blyth Results: 1 C Smith (Morp) 32:15; 2 J Bell (Black B, U17) 32:23; 3 K Taylor (Morp) 32:27; 4 T Straughan (Morp) 32:28; 5 S Hancox (Morp, U20) 32:41; 6 M Fenwick (Tyne Br) 33:05; 7 G Bracken (NSP, M50) 33:15; 8 A Powell (Sun) 33:19; 9 T Scott (Tyne Br, M40) 33:55; 10 J Evans (J&H, U20) 34:03. Women: 1 M Nolan (Gate) 36:39; 2 S Maclean-Dann (NSP, W40) 37:31; 3 C McManus (NSP, W35) 37:41.