Union chief says Labour MPs who voted against Jeremy Corbyn 'not welcome' at Durham Miners' Gala

A furious union leader has slammed 'disgraceful' Labour MPs who have backed a vote of no confidence in leader Jeremy Corbyn and said they will not be welcome at this year's Durham Miners' Gala.

Thursday, 30th June 2016, 1:18 pm
Updated Thursday, 30th June 2016, 2:22 pm
Dave Hopper, general secretary of Durham Miners' Association.

Durham Miners’ Association general secretary Dave Hopper said MPs who say they cannot support Mr Corbyn will be getting letters rescinding their invitation to share a platform with him at the event on Saturday , July 9.

A total of 172 Labour MPs have backed the motion to say they have no confidence in Mr Corbyn’s leadership.

Washington and Sunderland West MP Sharon Hodgson this week resigned from her role as shadow minister for children and families, while South Shields MP Emma Lewell-Buck for communities and local government.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Mr Hopper said: “We feel that what has gone on is disgraceful and anyone who supported the vote of no confidence will not be welcome at the Gala.

“They are trying to humiliate the man and have allowed David Cameron to make mocking statements at him in Parliament when it was the prime minister who called the referendum.

“We knew there would be a coup attempt against Mr Corbyn, but a ballot could have been organised. Doing it like this is disgusting.”

Mr Hopper added that he and other DMA leaders did not want to see Mr Corbyn sharing a platform with Labour MPs who do not support him at next week’s event.

“We just can’t be seen to be feting people who are against the leader.

“We had a leader called Blair who didn’t come to the gala for 13 years.

“I’ve been a member of the Labour Party for a long time and his is purely self-interest which is in danger of smashing the party at a time when we should be attacking the Tories.

“These MPs should look in the mirror.

“I’m disgusted by it.”