Trio given the Freedom of Sunderland

Sir Bob Murray.
Sir Bob Murray.
Have your say

THREE Wearsiders who have helped to change the face of Sunderland were receiving the Freedom of the City today.

Sir Bob Murray, Sir Peter Vardy and John Mawston were being given the honour, which recognises notable citizens of Sunderland for their significant contribution to the city.

Long-serving councillor Mr Mawston, who was first elected to Houghton Urban District Council in 1954, has been nominated for his hard work across Houghton. He retired in May 2002.

Sir Bob, Sunderland AFC’s longest-serving chairman, has been nominated for his contribution to football, education and charitable causes across Sunderland.

Sir Peter’s contribution to education and businesses has earned him the honour.