These are the Grand Central trains from Sunderland and Hartlepool to London cancelled due to work at King's Cross station

A number of Grand Central train services from Sunderland and Hartlepool to London have been cancelled due to improvement works at the capital’s King’s Cross Station.

Thursday, 16th January 2020, 6:00 am
Updated Thursday, 16th January 2020, 10:18 am

There will be no trains in and out of London’s King Cross station on Saturday 25 and Sunday 26 January, and Saturday February 29 and Sunday March 1.

There will also be three weekends of a reduced service on the East Coast Main Line.

Passengers along the route are urged to check before travelling and to allow additional time for their journey as these services will be busy and are likely to take longer than usual.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Grand Central trains cancelled due to works at London's King Cross station.
Grand Central trains cancelled due to works at London's King Cross station.

These dates of disruption are Saturday 18 and Sunday 19 January; Saturday 8 and Sunday 9 February; and Saturday 15 and Sunday 16 February.

Which Grand Central trains will not run?

Friday, January 24 – 5:30pm Sunderland to London Kings Cross.

Monday, January 27 – 8.27am London Kings Cross to Sunderland.

Friday, February 28 - 5.30pm Sunderland to London Kings Cross.

Monday, March 2 – 8.27am London Kings Cross to Sunderland.

All other services on these days are scheduled to run as normal.

What work is being carried out at London King’s Cross station?

The multi-million pound investment is set to improve the infrastructure at King’s Cross station, which will see a-mile-and-a-half of track, signalling and overhead line equipment re-thought, re-planned and re-laid.

Simultaneously, the project will create two new lines by re-opening a disused tunnel on the approach to King’s Cross; increasing the approach from four tracks to six.