Drivers urged to slow down to 20 in new campaign

The schools will see the roads near to them changed to 20mph in peak times.
The schools will see the roads near to them changed to 20mph in peak times.
Have your say

A part-time 20mph speed limit is going to be rolled out near to a number of schools in County Durham.

It’s safety first for a number of County Durham schools with the launch of a new 20mph speed limit.

The Slow to 20 for Safer Streets Campaign, masterminded by Durham County Council, came into force today with the aim of making the roads safer for pupils and the wider community as a whole.

St Cuthbert’s Primary School, in Chester-le-Street, was the first to feel the benefit of the reduced speed limit, which was launched there today.

Before the end of 2015, 13 more schools will have the speed limit on surrounding roads changed to 20mph.

There will be 20 additional schools added to the scheme next year.

The part-time limits will be effective at peak travelling times from Mondays to Fridays, where flashing lights will act as a warning to drivers.

Clare Swales, head of St Cuthbert’s, said the school council has been working to raise awareness of speeding motorists around the school.

She added: “We are delighted that, in partnership with the council, St Cuthbert’s has become the first location for the 20mph limit to come into force.

“Children and families are greatly looking forward to the scheme improving safety on the surrounding roads and benefitting everyone on the journey to and from school.”

In partnership with the new speed limits, further road safety training will be provided to pupils at the schools.

This will include pedestrian awareness and bikeability cycle safety training. In addition, children will be further encouraged to walk or cycle to school.

The speed limits will be applied on roads near to the following schools:

Bishop Auckland

King James I Academy

Etherley Lane Nursery

Etherley Lane Primary


Bishop Barrington School

St Anne’s CE Primary

Woodhouse Community Primary


Newker Primary

Bullion Lane Primary

Cestria Primary

Park View Community School (Church Chare)

The Hermitage School

St Cuthbert’s RC VA Primary


Shotley Bridge Infant

Consett Infant School and Nursery Unit

Shotley Bridge Junior

St Patrick’s RC VA Primary


St Joseph’s RC VA Primary, Durham


Cotsford Junior

Newton Aycliffe

St Mary’s RC VA Primary

Sugar Hill Primary


Dene House Primary

Dene Community School of Technology

Acre Rigg Infant


Seaview Primary

Westlea Primary

Seaham Trinity Primary

New Seaham Primary

Seaham School of Technology


Rosa Street Primary

King Street Primary


North Durham Academy

Greenland Community Primary