Sunderland striker Fabio Borini in Italy squad, but Vito Mannone misses out

Sunderland's Fabio Borini has been called up into Italy boss Antonio Conte's latest squad, but clubmate Vito Mannone has missed out.

Tuesday, 17th May 2016, 5:00 am
Fabio Borini

Conte will name his 30-man preliminary squad for Euro 2016 next Monday, and will assess some players this week.

No players from Juventus or Milan are in this squad, with the Coppa Italia final played this Saturday, but there are a number of new faces.

Vito Mannone

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Marco Sportiello, Armando Izzo, Lorenzo Tonelli, Marco Benassi, Danilo Cataldi, Davide Zappacosta and Leonardo Pavoletti have all been selected for the first time.

Borini is called up by Conte for the first time - no doubt the next Chelsea manager saw the Black Cats forward score against the Blues last week.

Bologna goalkeeper Antonio Mirante also gets his first Conte call-up and that meant no place for Mannone.

Mirante’s Bologna team-mate Emanuele Giaccherini, who flopped at Sunderland, is also in the squad.

Vito Mannone

Mannone tweeted: ‘Sorry not to make Italy squad, but honoured to be that close. I’ll keep fighting. Now Good Break to rest to be ready next season’.

There’s no place for MLS pair Andrea Pirlo and Sebastian Giovinco.

Italy training camp squad:

Goalkeepers: Federico Marchetti (Lazio), Antonio Mirante (Bologna), Marco Sportiello (Atalanta)

Defenders: Francesco Acerbi (Sassuolo), Davide Astori (Fiorentina), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus), Armando Izzo (Genoa), Angelo Ogbonna (West Ham), Lorenzo Tonelli (Empoli)

Midfielders: Marco Benassi (Torino), Federico Bernardeschi (Fiorentina), Antonio Candreva (Lazio), Danilo Cataldi (Lazio), Daniele De Rossi (Roma), Lorenzo De Silvestri (Sampdoria), Stephan El Shaarawy (Roma), Alessandro Florenzi (Roma), Emanuele Giaccherini (Bologna), Jorginho (Napoli), Marco Parolo (Lazio), Roberto Soriano (Sampdoria), Davide Zappacosta (Torino)

Forwards: Fabio Borini (Sunderland), Eder (Inter), Ciro Immobile (Torino), Lorenzo Insigne (Napoli), Leonardo Pavoletti (Genoa), Graziano Pellè (Southampton)