Smith dances her way to Sand Dancer 10k title

Sunderland Harriers won the women's team race and finished second in the men's competition in the record-breaking South Shields Harriers' Sand Dancer multi-terrain 10k yesterday.

Monday, 11th April 2016, 11:31 am
South Shields Harriers Sand Dancer 10k race  womens race winner Rosie Smith, centre, with Alison Matthews, left, and Georgia Campbell.

The hosts had plenty to smile about, as for the first time over 400 runners finished inside the Gypsies Green Stadium and Durham City Harrier Rosie Smith broke the women’s record.

Smith making her race debut said: “I really enjoyed it. I didn’t know I had broken the record until someone told me.”

Smith finished seventh overall (34.50), well inside the 2009 mark of Tynedale’s Sonia Morley from (37.42}.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Darlington’s Allison Matthews was runner-up (38.42) and Jarrow and Hebburn’s Georgia Campbell was third (39.17).

The Sunderland’s women’s team had Michelle Avery in eighth (41.40), Judith Thirlwell ninth (41.44) and Vikki Cotton 16th (44.03), to beat South Shields on time.

Sunderland Strollers finished seventh with Vicki Booth 19th, Tracy Suddick 28th and Lesley Watson 39th.

Jarrow and Hebburn’s Andy Burn broke away at halfway to win the men’s race with a comfortable victory in 32.49, ahead of New Marske Harrier Tristan Learoyd (33.11) and Blackhill’s Gary Wallace in third (33.50).

Former Sunderland Harrier Michael Barker, now running unattached, finished sixth (34.44).

Crook beat Sunderland Harriers by just 17 seconds to win the men’s team title.

Sunderland’s team was Michael Edwards in eighth (35.03), Ian Ritchie 10th (35.11), Michael Heskett 17th (37.02) and Alan Hodgson 26th (38.42).

The Strollers were eighth thanks to Carl Smith in 45th (41.09), Gareth Wills 53rd (41.32), Ed Sweeney 62nd (42.02) and Jason Clement 101 (44.35).

The Harriers also had Darren Stoker in 36th (39.53), Tony Allinson 42nd (40.39), Tony Thompson second over-60 in 58th (41.45), Dean Phillips 61st (42.01), Shaun Bagley 77th (43.05), Allan McManus 81st (43.18) and Karl Robinson 83rd (43.39).