The Drive-In Cinema returns to South Shields this winter - this is what's on and when

A trip to the movies can be a magical time but South Tyneside offers families a 1950s experience as the Drive-In Cinema returns to Bents Park in South Shields.

Sunday, 5th January 2020, 2:07 pm
WIll you be going along to see one of the films? Picture: Pixabay.
WIll you be going along to see one of the films? Picture: Pixabay.

Movie nights will return to Bents Park in South Shields from Thursday, February 13 to Sunday, March 1 with 14 scheduled film nights to choose from.

A mix of classic family, nostalgic childhood, comedy and musicals there is something for everybody this winter.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Ticket prices are per vehicles, and each car is allowed a maximum of seven people.

Standard entry costs are £29.50 and spaces are issued on a first come, first served basis.

There are VIP spaces available but spaces are limited, however a VIP ticket will guarantee a place in the first two rows and cost £35.

What time do the gates open and close?

The gates will open at 5pm, two hours before the film starts at 7pm.

For sold out screenings the gates will open from 4.30pm

Gates will close at 6:30pm, a half hour before the film starts. No cars will be allowed on site once the film has started.

What movies are playing between February and March?

Thursday, February 13 – Dirty Dancing (15)

Friday, February 14 – Pretty Woman (15)

Saturday, February 15 – Back To The Future (PG)

Sunday, February 16 – The Goonies (12A)

Monday, February 17 – The Little Mermaid (U)

Tuesday, February 18 – Beetlejuice (15)

Wednesday, February 19 – Bohemian Rhapsody (12A)

Thursday, February 20 – ET: The Extra Terrestrial (U)

Friday, February 21 – Who Framed Roger Rabbit (PG)

Saturday, February 22 – Grease (PG)

Sunday, February 23 – A Star Is Born (15)

Friday, February 28 – Back To The Future: Part II (PG)

Saturday, February 29 – Footloose (15)

Sunday, March 1 – The Greatest Showman (PG)

Will there be food and drink?

Food and drinks include, hot dogs, popcorn and nachos as well as soft drinks or hot drinks.

Food kiosks accept cash or cards on movie nights and close at 8pm.