North East European election candidates announced

editorial image
Have your say

THE 24 men and women who want to become MEPs for the North East has been released.

Sitting MEPs Fiona Hall from the Lib Dems and Stephen Hughes from Labour have decided not to stand for relection, but Martin Callanan from the Conservatives will contest his seat.

The region elects three people to represent its interests at the European Parliament using the list system.

Each party can appoint up to three candidates to stand and is awarded a number of seats based on the number of votes it gains.

An Independence from Europe

Sherri Forbes, Middlesbrough

Nawal Hazan, Middlesbrough

Mary Forbes, Stockton

British National Party

Martin Joseph Vaughan, South Shields

Lady Dorothy MacBeth Brooke, Whitley Bay

Peter Forman, South Shields

Conservative Party

Martin Callanan, Gateshead

Ben Houchen, Stockton

Andrew Lee, Tadcaster

English Democrats

Kevin Riddiough, Barnsley

Sam Kelly, York

John Lewis, Dunnington

Green Party

Shirley Ford, South Shields

Alison Whalley, Newcastle

Caroline Robinson, Sunderland

Labour Party

Jude Kirton-Darling, Hexham

Paul Brannen, Newcastle

Jayne Shotton, North Shields

Liberal Democrats

Angelika Schneider, Corbridge

Owen Temple, Consett

Christian Vassie, York

UK Independence Party

Jonathan William Arnott, Guisborough

Richard Elvin, Houghton

Phillip Broughton, Stockton