Health heroes honoured at Sunderland Echo awards

Have your say

HEALTH heroes from across Wearside have been honoured at an annual awards night.

The Echo’s Best of Health Awards evening took place at the Stadium of Light yesterday.

And the winners are... just a few of the winners from last night's Best of Health Awards held at the Stadium of Light.

And the winners are... just a few of the winners from last night's Best of Health Awards held at the Stadium of Light.

Doctors, nurses and other health practicioners were given recognition for going the extra mile, with winners in 11 separate categories taking home awards.

Michael Oliver, of Oliver’s Dental Studio, took home the Dentist of the Year prize, while Dr Prashant Kumar went home with the Hospital Doctor of the Year honour.

The Mental Health/Learning Disabilities Nurse of the Year award was shared by colleagues Ian Gee and Geoff Willis, who are both ward managers at Monkwearmouth Hospital.

The award for best customer service went to Head and Neck Cancer Nurse specialists while Dr Shetty’s Practice, which is based in Pallion Health Centre, was the winner of GP Practice of the Year.

And a special recognition Editor’s Choice gong went to Sunderland housing provider Gentoo’s Wellbeing Team.

Echo deputy editor Richard Ord, who handed out a number of the prizes, said: “It has been another fantastic night and we’ve heard some heartwarming stories of health workers going above and beyond for their patients.

“Staff in both the public and private sector carry out vital roles in caring for people across Sunderland and it is important that their work does not go unrecognised.

“Thank you to everyone who took time to nominate someone for an award and we hope many more readers will do so next year.” Compere Alfie Joey, of BBC Newcastle, hosted the event, which was backed by City Hospitals Sunderland, Sunderland Clinical Commissioning Group, Olivers Dental Studio and Bluebird Care.

The Winners

•Carer of the Year: Jenny Coward

•Clinical Support: Elaine Ricci

•Community/Practice Nurse of the Year: Jackie Cairns

•Community Team of the Year: Community Treatment Team Learning Disabilities

•Dentist of the Year: Michael Oliver

•Mental Health/Learning Disabilities Nurse of the Year: Ian Gee and Geoff Willis

•Customer Service Award: Head and Neck Cancer Nurse Specialists

•GP/Practice of the Year: Dr Shetty’s Practice

•Hospital Nurse/Midwife/Dental Nurse of the Year: Michelle Derbyshire, Lucy Rowland and Anthea Griffiths

•Hospital Doctor of the Year: Dr Prashant Kumar

•Editor’s Choice: Community Children’s Nursing Team

•Special Recognition (Editor’s Choice): Gentoo Wellbeing Team.