Teachers’ strike - how your child’s school is affected

Have your say

MANY Sunderland schools are closed today due to a strike by teachers.

Sunderland Council has provided the following list of how schools are affected.


Academy 360 - CLOSED; Albany Village Primary School - OPEN but 1 class off all day and 1 class off afternoon only


Barbara Priestman School - OPEN; Barmston Village Primary School - OPEN for Year 1, 2, 3 and 4 only; Barnes Infant School - CLOSED; Barnes Junior School - CLOSED; Barnwell Primary School - CLOSED - Childcare is Open; Benedict Biscop CE Primary School - CLOSED; Bernard Gilpin Primary School - CLOSED; Bexhill Academy - CLOSED; Biddick Primary School - OPEN; Biddick School Sports College - CLOSED; Bishop Harland CE (Aided) Primary School - CLOSED; Blackfell Primary School - CLOSED; Broadway Primary School - CLOSED; Burnside Primary School - OPEN


Castle View Enterprise Academy - CLOSED; Castlegreen Community School - OPEN; Castletown Primary School - PARTLY OPEN; Columbia Grange - Some classes will be OPEN


Dame Dorothy Primary School - CLOSED; Diamond Hall Infant School - CLOSED; Diamond Hall Junior School - OPEN; Dubmire Primary School - CLOSED


Easington Lane Primary School - CLOSED; East Herrington Primary School - CLOSED; East Rainton Primary School - OPEN; English Martyrs’ Primary School - OPEN for reception class only; Eppleton Primary School - CLOSED


Farringdon Community Sports College - CLOSED; Farringdon Primary School - CLOSED; Fatfield Primary School - OPEN; Fulwell Infant School - CLOSED; Fulwell Junior School - CLOSED


George Washington Primary School - CLOSED; Gillas Lane Primary School - CLOSED; Grange Park Primary School - CLOSED; Grangetown Primary School - OPEN; Grindon Infant School - CLOSED


Hasting Hill Primary School - CLOSED; Hetton-le-Hole Nursery School - OPEN; Hetton Lyons Nursery School - PARTLY OPEN; Hetton Lyons Primary School - CLOSED; Hetton Primary School - CLOSED; Hetton School - CLOSED; Highfield Community Primary School - Open with the exception of 1 Year 6 Class, 1 Reception Class, Nursery Closed; Hill View Infant School - OPEN but some classes affected; Hill View Junior School - Some classes will be open whilst some will be closed; Holley Park Primary School - OPEN to Year 3 only; Houghton Kepier Sports College - CLOSED; Houghton-le-Spring Community Nursery School - Partly open; Hudson Road Primary School - CLOSED BUT OPEN FOR LUNCH; Hylton Castle Primary School - CLOSED; Hylton Red House Nursery School - OPEN; Hylton Red House Primary School - OPEN for reception – all children, Year 2 - Class 5 Miss Stanley/ Mrs Ramsay, Year 3 - Class 8 Miss Fraser, Year 6 – both classes. ALL OTHER CLASSES CLOSED.


John F Kennedy Primary School - OPEN for Nursery and 1 year 3 class only; Lambton Primary School - CLOSED for all children expect Year 5


Maplewood School - CLOSED; Mill Hill Nursery School - OPEN; Mill Hill Primary School - CLOSED; Millfield Community Nursery School - OPEN; Monkwearmouth School - CLOSED


New Penshaw Primary School - CLOSED; New Silksworth Infant School - OPEN to all classes not affected by strike action; New Silksworth Junior School - CLOSED; Newbottle Primary School - CLOSED


Our Lady Queen of Peace - OPEN; Oxclose Community Nursery School - OPEN; Oxclose Community School - CLOSED; Oxclose Village Primary School - CLOSED


Pennywell Early Years Centre - Education is CLOSED, however childcare is available for children who normally attend; Plains Farm Primary School - OPEN for 2 classes Year 1 and Year 3; Portland School - Some classes will be open


Red House Academy - CLOSED; Redby Primary School - CLOSED; Richard Avenue Primary School - CLOSED; Rickleton Primary School - OPEN but 4 classes not in school; Ryhope Infant School - CLOSED; Ryhope Junior School - CLOSED to Years 3 and Year 5 in morning. OUT OF SCHOOL VISIT ON THE AFTERNOON WILL STILL TAKE PLACE FOR ALL CHILDREN


Sandhill View School - CLOSED; Seaburn Dene Primary School - Open for Foundation Stage Unit and Key Stage 2; Shiney Row Primary School - CLOSED; South Hylton Primary School - CLOSED; Southmoor Community School - CLOSED; Southwick Primary School - CLOSED; Springwell Dene School - CLOSED; Springwell Village Primary School - CLOSED to Nursery, Year 1 and Year 5. All other year groups open; St Aidan’s Catholic School and Language College - CLOSED; St Anne’s RC Voluntary Aided Primary School - Open to all Year groups expect Year 5; St Anthony’s Catholic Girls School - OPEN only to pupils in year 11; St Bede’s RC Primary School - OPEN; St Benet’s RC Primary School - CLOSED; St Cuthbert’s RC Primary School - CLOSED for Year 2, 4, 5 and 6. Other classes OPEN; St John Bosco RC Primary School - OPEN to Year 1, 2 and 6 pupils only; St John Boste RC Voluntary Aided Primary School - CLOSED; St Joseph’s RC Voluntary Aided Primary School (Sunderland) - CLOSED; St Joseph’s RC Voluntary Aided Primary School (Washington) - CLOSED to pupils in reception, year 5 and year 6 only; St Leonard’s RC Voluntary Aided Primary School - OPEN for reception, year 2, year 3 and year 6 only; St Mary’s RC Voluntary Aided Primary School - OPEN; St Michael’s RC Voluntary Aided Primary School - OPEN; St Patrick’s RC Voluntary Aided Primary School - OPEN for Reception Children only. The before school club is open for these children but there will be NO after school club; St Pauls C of E Controlled Primary School - CLOSED; St Robert of Newminster Catholic School and Sixth Form College - OPEN to Year 7, 8 and 9. CLOSED to Year 10 and 12; Sunningdale School - CLOSED


Thorney Close Primary School - OPEN to all Year Groups except Year 6; Thornhill School Business and Enterprise College - CLOSED; Town End Primary School - CLOSED


Usworth Colliery Nursery School - CLOSED; Usworth Colliery Primary School - School is OPEN, however certain classes (where the teachers are striking) have been advised not to come in; Usworth Grange Primary School - OPEN for 2 classes (Year 4 and CAP Class). Other classes CLOSED; Valley Road Primary School - CLOSED to pupils. Childcare available; Venerable Bede C of E Voluntary Aided Secondary School - OPEN


Washington School - CLOSED; Wessington Primary School - CLOSED; Willow Fields Primary School - OPEN