Durham Sunday League: Winn double as Pelton RAOB secure cup glory

Newly-crowned Premier Division champions Pelton RAOB topped off a fine season with a comfortable 5-1 victory over West Rainton in the final of the Castle Insurance Alan Smith Memorial Trophy.

Friday, 12th May 2017, 4:30 pm
Updated Friday, 12th May 2017, 4:56 pm
Pelton RAOB, winners of the Castle Insurance Alan Smith Memorial Trophy.

After a goalless first half at New Ferens Park, Buffs overwhelmed the Division One club in the second 45 minutes.

Veteran Craig Marron, who ran the show for most of the game, set up Chris Winn for the opening goal, and Kevin Dixon quickly grabbed a second.

West Rainton were thrown a lifeline following a mix-up at the heart of the Buffs defence, with Graeme Brenkley firing home, with 15 minutes to play.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Rainton took risks to push forward in search of an equaliser, but they were caught out on a breakaway, with Winn dribbling around keeper David Pritchard to make it 3-1.

In the dying minutes, Pelton substitutes Paul Weatherburn and Anthony Davidson each scored to make it 5-1.

Pelaw Grange Dogs ensured their survival in Division One with a last-day 2-1 win over New Brancepeth.

Pelaw’s win took them to third-bottom spot and condemned Houghton Chilton Lodge, two points worse off, to the drop

A very entertaining first half saw both sides having chances and the Dogs coming closest with a free-kick which hit the woodwork.

Just after the restart, another free-kick tested the Brancepeth goalkeeper and Liam Farr followed up to score his first goal of the season.

New Brancepeth piled on the pressure and equalised when a ball into the box wasn’t dealt with and Kidd finished from inside the six-yard box.

Brancepeth were reduced to 10 men and Dogs tried to take advantage. They thought they had gone ahead when star man Jeffers finished clinically, but he was called back for offside.

In the last minute, Pelaw won it when a cross found Brian Allen, who finished well from inside the box.

Ferryhill Celtic, the champions, finished off with a 3-1 home win over Washington Cross Keys.

Jason White, Peter Robson and Mark Burnett notched for Ferryhill.

Sherburn Village WMC, runners-up to Pelton RAOB, ended their impressive Premier Division season with a 2-1 success at Houghton Town.

Star man James Ellis and Dan Cummings bagged the vital goals to sink the new League Cup winners.

Sherburn ended just a point behind top spot.

Sacriston Cricket Club pipped Sedgefield St Edmund’s 2-1, despite sloppy play seeing them give the ball away too many times.

Anthony Ward’s worldie and a very lucky deflection, from a Graham Embleton strike, won the day for the cricketers.