By-election candidates announced after £26,000 expenses councillor resigns

Neville Padgett
Neville Padgett
Share this article
Have your say

THE runners and riders have been announced for the by-election prompted by the resignation of a controversial councillor.

Washington East councillor Neville Padgett stepped down from Sunderland City Council in October citing ‘health reasons’.

His resignation came after controversy over the size of his expenses claims, which totalled £26,000 for fuel and food in two years. Read the full story here.
A by-election has been announced for Thursday December 11.

The closing date for candidates has now past. Those standing are:

Alistair Baxter, UK Independence Party (Ukip), 19 Holwick Close, Washington, NE38 0QG

Hilary Johnson, The Conservative Party Candidate, 28 Kimberley, Teal Farm, Washington, NE38 8TT

Tony Murphy, Green Party, 38 Southcroft, Washington, NE38 8RD

Stephen O’Brien, Liberal Democrat, 20 Gilbert Road, Sunderland, SR4 9QU

Tony Taykor, The Labour Party Candidate, 40 Teal Farm Way, Teal Farm, Washington, NE38 8BG