Best of Health Awards: Sunderland’s shortlist revealed

Last year's winners at the Sunderland Echo Health Awards.
Last year's winners at the Sunderland Echo Health Awards.
Have your say

Here is what you have all been waiting for – the shortlist for this year’s Best of Health Awards can finally be announced.

And what a line-up it is for our competition, which culminates in the grand finale tomorrow night at Sunderland’s Stadium of Light.

There are outstanding contenders in every category, and the judges found it incredibly hard to narrow the field down.

But now we are gearing up to the big moment when we will reveal the winners in everything from the GP Practice of the Year, to Hospital Doctor of the Year.

Judges said they found it hard to choose just one winner from this year’s impressive choice of candidates, but in the end they did select the people who are still in the running – and they are all listed below.

Make sure you follow the Sunderland Echo for full reports of the awards and watch out for coverage on the night through Twitter and on the Sunderland Echo’s website at www.sunderlandecho.com.

We will also bring you a full report of the events at the competition in the Sunderland Echo the next day.

Make sure you continue to get the Echo for your pull-out supplement with more photographs and reaction from all of the winners in the days to come.

In the meantime, below is the full list of all the entrants who made it on to the shortlist.

Sponsored by City Hospitals Sunderland NHS Foundation Trust:

l GP of the Year – Dr Scott Batey; Dr Cloak; Dr Quasim; Dr Karin Hubbard.

l GP Practice of the Year – Herrington Medical Centre; Pallion Health Centre; Woodland Surgery; Eden Terrace Surgery.

Sponsored by NHS Sunderland Clinical Commissioning Group:

l Hospital Doctor – Mr Leontsinis; Janice O’Connell; Mr G O’Dair; Dr Cowlam; Mr Andrew Brown.

l Health Team – Phoenix Unit; Sunderland Renal Unit; Ward F65; Recovery at Home; Endoscopy Team.

Sponsored by Olivers Dental Studio:

l Health Assistant/Care Worker – Suzanne McEvoy; Michelle Daglish; Kim Joyce.

l Health Volunteer – Dave Green; MacMillan Support & Volunteer Team; Hug in a Bag.

Sponsored by Sunderland Echo:

l Special Recognition – Cathie Burke.

l Long-term achievement – Les Boobis.

l Nurse of the Year – Sharon Huntley; Sarah Hindle; Hilary Wardle; Debbie Hindmarsh; Lynn Muthu.

l Dental Practice – Olivers Dental Studio; Park Lane Dental; Frederick Street Dental; West Mount Dental Practice.

l Optician – Specsavers; Vision Express; KB & RL Gardner.

l Dental Nurse – Tonie Crisp; Gemma Veitch; Karen Russell.

l Health Care Professiona – Laura Eastick; Sally Rooney; Peter Linsley.

l Customer Service Award – Customer Service Help and Advice; Tonie Moon; April Purvis/Susan Johnson; MacMillan Support Team – Cancer Information Centre.

l Pharmacy – Redhouse Pharmacy: Penshaw Pharmacy; Chilton Moor Pharmacy; Sainsburys Pharmacy.