Houghton Rugby Club hope bad weather does not affect Durham Northumberland Three clash with Richmondshire

Have your say

HOUGHTON are hoping the bad weather stays in the past as they prepare to take on Richmondshire in Durham/Northumberland 3 at Dairy Lane on Saturday.

In their last home game – against Prudhoe and Stocksfield – Houghton showed lots of commitment and good ball retention skills, but lacked a cutting edge as they went down 17-0.

The club has had two blank weekends since then, with the tie against Jarrovians having to be called off twice due to a frozen pitch.

That game has now been rescheduled for a week on Saturday.

“During the period of bad weather, the numbers at training have been fantastic,” said first team coach Chris Simpson.

“Selection for this weekend’s fixture has been the hardest I have had.

“There are a number of players in the second-team squad who are knocking on the door of first-team selection.

“We have also had senior players returning from injury in the past few weeks and they too have not had a chance to play because ot the weather.

“Richmondshire were my first opponents when I took over as Head Coach four months ago.

“We came away with a hard-fought 16-10 away victory, but Richmondshire put our defence under immense pressure for the full 80 minutes and I wouldn’t expect anything different on Saturday.”

The club is also hosting a Race Night in the clubhouse on Saturday from 7.30pm. Entry is free.

Houghton II will be fielding a strong team, consisting of a mix of youth and experience as they hope to get back to winning ways.

The club is still looking for new players of all abilities. Anyone interested can contact the club.

Houghton I v Richmondshire: A. Tyzack, M. Potts, M. Marchant, V. McBeth, A. Widdowfield, C. Hicks (C), G. Crowther, P. McBernie, G. Shepherd, C. Simpson, G. Bennett, M. Douglass, A. Towers, B. Henderson, T. Birtley, A. Bolton, L. Maggoire, D. Bradley, K. Hughes, C. Ham,

Houghton II (meet noon, 2.15 kick-off): From: C.Hissett, D.Cumming, A.Hall, R.Main, B.Slater, C.Bowen, K.Hughes, R.Scott, L.McArdle, D.Miller, L.Whelan, A.Fairley, S.Henderson, J.Forrester, R.Lydiatt, J.Parkinson, A.Slessor, C.Gowland, K.Jarvis, R.Harries, M.Watchman-Atkinson.