Redpath celebrates a massive win

Have your say

As the race for Grand Finals Night places hits the home straight in the John Smith’s Knack Premier League in Seaham, Ryhope’s John Redpath produced his best win of the season with a thrilling 5-3 win against Eddie Ashman.

His main rivals, Anth Skelton and Steve Skinner, had already picked up three points so Redpath was faced with a game he had to win and he duly obliged with the help of two 21-darters and a 18-darter including a 118 checkout.

Steve Skinner remains the favorite for eighth place after a commanding performance which saw him beat Barry Rutherford 5-0 with Skinner hitting his tenth maximum of the season to stay five points clear of his rivals.

Anth Skelton’s finishing proved the difference as he overcame his old mentor Martin Price 5-2 with best legs of 15,18 and 20 darts including checkouts of 114 and 102.

John Squire collected his first win since replacing Paul Gillibrand in the league with a hard fought 5-2 win against Neil Richardson.

Spiller Henderson claimed a magnificent point against Southwick’s Paul Williams.

Spiller looked on course for a shock win when leading 3-0 only for Williams to use all his experience to claw his way back into the game with four straight legs after Spiller had missed tops and the bull for 160 and 167 checkouts, but he wasn’t to be denied a much deserved point in the last leg.

Davey Thompson and Jimmy Ashett were also involved in a thrilling draw with no fewer than 37-ton plus scores between them including two maximums by Ashett.

Reigning champion Graham Mullen also hit a maximum as he came out on top 5-2 against Alan Smith.

Phil Dunn was in fine form as he blew Anthony Gale away in a 5-0 win with 18, 19 and 21 darts, including a 116 finish the highlights.

Neil Rose came out on top 5-2 in a scrappy affair with Mark Robinson with a couple of 21 darters being Rose’s best, while Robbo hit a 117 finish in a 21 dart leg.

Results: Graham Mullen 5 Alan Smith 2, Barry Rutherford 0 Steve Skinner 5, Anth Skelton 5 Martin Price 2, Eddie Ashman 3 John Redpath 5, John “Squizzy” Squire 5 Neil Richardson 2, Anthony Gale 0 Phil Dunn 5, Paul Williams 4 Spiller Henderson 4, Davey Thompson 4 Jimmy Ashett 4, Neil Rose 5 Mark Robinson 2.