Dykes holds off Laybourn to secure title

Have your say

STEVE Dykes is celebrating winning the Thorney Close Darts Premier League after beating Marco Laybourn 11-9 in the play-off final.

Dykes stormed in to a 10-4 lead, but Laybourn made a fight of it and won the next five legs.

Dykes held strong, though, to see off his final challenger.

Dykes won with some brilliant darts. His best legs were in 16, 17, 17, 18, 18 and 20 darts.

Laybourn responded with best legs of 18, 18, 19 and 20 darts, and also threw two 180s.

The first game of the evening saw Anth Cummings beat Darren Johnston 5-4 in a very close match.

Cummings’ best leg was a 21-darter. Johnston replied with 15 and 21-dart legs with a great finish of 130, plus a 180.

Jamie Scott beat Tony Cummings 5-4 in yet another close battle.

Jamie Scott then beat Anth Cummings 5-0 to win promotion to the Premier Leauge, with legs of 20 and 21 darts.

Steve Dykes made easy work of Vince Lorraine to win 7-2. His best legs were in 18, 20 and 21 darts, while he also threw a 180 and a great checkout of 156.

Ian Wilkinson edged out Steve Richardson 7-5, including a tremendous 105 checkout.

Marco Laybourn beat Andy Lincoln 7-2 with some dazzling darts.

Micky Callan beat Walter Scott 7-3 with legs of 13, 18, 18 and 19 darts.

Dykes beat Wilkinson 9-2 in the semi-final, with legs in 19, 20, and 21 darts.

Laybourn beat Micky Callan 9-5, with three 180s and legs of 14, 15 and 18 darts.

H The new season starts Tuesday, November 27.

Anyone wanting to join the league is alsed to turn up on the night by 7.30pm.