Cheemas dismantle the Railway

Have your say

CHEEMAS C top the Division Two Westoe Removals Sunderland Snooker League table after taking apart the Railway.

Joe Beston of The Railway had a 67-25 success against Steve Thompson of Cheemas C but it was not enough to inspire his team-mates who lost the next four.

Marc Farnsworth took the second, Anthony Miller and Paul Kirsop took the next two singles and Farnsworth and Miller took the pairs for a 4-1 result.

In the match of the week unbeaten Glendale took on Washington Snooker B, the current leaders.

Crag Bell beat Gary Nell and Frank McParlin aided by a 32 break beat Billy Shotton.

Alex Hanna replied before John Danby restored the lead.

Bell and Hannan took the pairs for Washington to restrict the score to a 3-2 defeat.

Biddick B had their recent good run stopped as Murton Vic beat them 3-2, after losing the first frame.

Eddie Williamson had a 25 break for Murton before Alex Lewin made it all square in the fourth.

Williamson and Dobson won 71-9 to claim the deciding pairs for Murton.

Murton Officials took the first two frames from Washington Union before losing the match 3-2 as Brian McDonald and Peter Stafford took the next, then following with the pairs. Murton suffer a two point deduction for missing a monthly meeting.

Seaham Cons took the first frame against Washington Snooker C, before collapsing and losing the next three.

Cowell and Monaghan had compensation with a good 62-50 score in winning the pairs for the Cons.

Near neighbours St Gabriel’s and Pennywell C had a tight match with Michael Burnikell, Ian McDermot and George Clark taking the first three singles for The Comrades.

Tony Grimes won his singles and he twinned with Steve Hagel to win the pairs for the Saints.

The inter club match between Cheemas A and B was won by the A team.

Whitburn is setting an early challenge in the first division and faced a possible minefield against Farringdon A in a top two match.

Paul Garvin, Derek White, Phill Freeman and John Smith took all the singles before an inspired Tom Feenan restored pride in winning the pairs for Farringdon.

Hylton A had a 5-0 win against Seaham Knack to improve their position in the table.

Seaham seem to lack consistency, playing well when winning the summer league but falling away in the winter league.

Mick Riley had breaks for 22 and 21 in the first frame for Biddick A against Pennywell, beating Mark Anderson.

Dave Adamson increased the lead before Joe Turner had a 53-50 result against Graham Smith.

Sid O’Wellan levelled it before Riley and Froud claimed the pairs for Biddick.

South Hylton only had three players against Washington A, and after losing the first two frames had to be pleased with a 3-2 result, when taking the last two.

Ed Norton and Chris Watkins lost their singles but responded by winning the pairs.

Mill View A met Gary Moore at his best and needed Keith Johnston to level in the second.

Mark Fox and Adam Burnell shared the next two before Moore and Fox claimed the pairs for a 3-2 win for the Avenue.

Pennywell Comrades B seemed to be a bit disorganised and it did not help when Stu Coffey went in off the black to lose to Carl Davis.

Steve Chandler kept his run going before Dean and Stuart Taylor won the next two for Pennywell.

Brown and Kemp claimed the pairs for Mill View.

Dean Wilson took the first frame for Green Baize before Chris Cowle levelled for Steels A.

The next two frames were shared before Burn and Kane took the pairs for the Baize.

H Competitors are reminded to make early contact to secure their home ties in the knock-out rounds.

Results: Division One: Woodside B 2 Woodside A 3, Whitburn 4 Farringdon A 1, Hylton A 5 Seaham Knack 0, Biddick A 3 Pennywell Comrades 2, Mill View A 2 Avenue 3, Washington Snooker A 3 Hylton B 2, Steels A 2 Green Baize 3, Pennywell Comrades 2 Mill View B 3. Division Two: Cheemas B 1 Cheemas A 4, St Gabriels 2 Pennywell Comrades C 3, Washington Union 3 Murton Officials 2, Glendale 3 Washington Snooker B 2, Railway 1 Cheemas C 4, Farringdon B 4 Victory 1, Murton Vic 3 Biddick B 2, Washington Snooker 3 Seaham Cons 2.