Newcastle United v Sunderland: New date for Tyne-Wear derby

Steven Fletcher is fouled by Fabricio Coloccini in the first derby of the season.

Steven Fletcher is fouled by Fabricio Coloccini in the first derby of the season.

1
Have your say

The Tyne-Wear derby has a new date after the crucial Premier League fixture was chosen for television coverage.

Newcastle United were originally due to host Sunderland at St James's Park on Saturday, March 19 but the fixture has been selected for Sky Sports coverage and been moved to the Sunday lunchtime, as a result.

The game will now take place on Sunday, March 20 (1.30pm).

Both sides are battling the drop and the lunchtime clash is set up to be a crucial game in the relegation run-in.

In the reverse fixture in October, Sam Allardyce's first home match in charge, the Black Cats won 3-0 thanks to goals from Adam Johnson, Billy Jones and Steven Fletcher.

Meanwhile, Newcastle United's trip to high-flying Leicester City has been moved for television coverage too and will now take place on Monday, March 14 (KO 8pm).

The full list of Premier League games chosen for Sky coverage in March is:

Sun 14 Feb: Arsenal v Leicester (12noon)

Sat 5 Mar: Watford v Leicester (5.30pm)

Sun 6 Mar: C Palace v Liverpool (1.30pm)

Sun 6 Mar: West Brom v Man Utd (4pm)

Sat 12 Mar: Norwich v Man City (12.45pm***)

Sat 12 Mar: Arsenal v West Brom (5.30pm***)

Sun 13 Mar: Liverpool v Chelsea (4pm***)

Mon 14 Mar: Leicester v Newcastle (8pm)

Sat 19 Mar: Swansea v A Villa (5.30pm)

Sun 20 Mar: Newcastle v Sunderland (1.30pm)

Sun 20 Mar: Man City v Man Utd (4pm)