Sunderland RCA snatch last-gasp win to march on at top of the STL Northern League

Have your say

SUNDERLAND RCA go marching on and they extended their lead at the top of the STL Northern League First Division to six points with a crucial last-gasp victory at third-placed Newcastle Benfield.

Andrew Jennings gave them a 27th-minute lead and following Paul Anthony’s early second-half equaliser, a draw looked the likely result as the minutes counted down.

But in stoppage time Mark Davison latched on to a free kick and drove the ball into the net.

Whitley Bay moved into second with a comfortable win at Jarrow Roofing.

Lee Kerr and Robbie Dale fired the Seahorses ahead and after Paul Robinson reduced the deficit, Whitley finished strongly, scoring twice through Damon Robson.

The shock result of the day was South Shields’ victory over Billingham Synthonia.

The Mariners went into the game without a point, but roared into a five-goal lead inside 52 minutes courtesy of Anthony Burnell, Lee Bell, Yanis Galas, Alex Benjamin and Andrew Barclay. David Hillerby’s reply was all Synners could muster.

Billingham Town remain second-bottom after losing to Ashington, whose marksmen were Darren Lough, Matthew Grieve and Gareth Bainbridge. Craig Norman and Steve Flockett replied for the Teessiders.

The brilliance of goalkeepers Liam Connell (Dunston UTS) and Spennymoor Town’s Craig Turns kept the scoresheet blank and Consett and Norton and Stockton Ancients also ended goalless.

Penrith won for the first time with two goals from Daniel Robinson and one by Ben Jackson at Marske United.

Birtley Town went down 4-1 in Division Two to second-top Team Northumbria, whose marksmen were Mark Fenwick (2), Peter Watling and John Sherlock. Daniel Smart was the visitors’ only scorer.

Darlington RA continue to lead the field following victory at Alnwick Town, where Tom McPherson (og), Freddie Huscroft and Michael Barnett scored.

Brandon United were easy winners at Ryton and Crawcrook Albion, with two goals in each half from Connor Whickham, Mark Brischuk, Michael Nichol and Jake Nicholson.