Home kick-off for Durham

0
Have your say

DURHAM’S push for 2012 County Championship gets underway at home to Nottinghamshire on Thursday, April 12.

Geoff Cook’s side last won the championship two years ago and fell just short of securing the title last season, finishing third behind winners Lancashire and runners-up Warwickshire in the final game of the 2011 campaign.

Nottinghamshire finished sixth last term, winning just five of their 16 championship encounters.

However, they did more than match Durham – drawing the four-day game at the Emirates ICG, and winning by 67 runs in the return clash at Trent Bridge.

Durham’s curtain-raiser comes in a three-day home game against Durham University, starting Friday, April 6.

Following the first championship game against Nottinghamshire, Cook’s men face two away trips against the two newly promoted counties – Middlesex from April 19 and Surrey from April 26.

Durham kick off their Clydesdale Bank 40 contest at home to Somerset on Sunday, April 13.

Marcos Trescothick’s men brought the Dynamos interest in the competition to an end last season.

This season’s Friends Life T20 contest sees Durham start their campaign on the road with a visit to Headingley Carnegie on Friday, June 15.

The first home game of the T20 contest sees Durham take on big hitting Nottinghamshire Outlaws on Sunday June 17.

That match kicks off a run of five T20 home games for Dynamos, who qualified for the quarter-finals of the competition last season.

Rivals Yorkshire, relegated to County Championship Division Two last term will make their only visit to Emirates in 2012 on Friday, June 22.

Next up are Derbyshire Falcons on Wednesday, June 27, while last season’s T20 champions Leicestershire Foxes are the visitors on Sunday, July 1.

They are followed by Lancashire Lightning on Sunday, July 8.

The Emirates ICG will host England one-day international clashes with Australia and South Africa next summer, as well as welcoming a Australia A side for a three-day tourist match which starts on Wednesday, August 1.

The season will be brought to a close with Durham playing Sussex in the LV= County Championship which starts on Tuesday, September 11.