Labour’s Emma Lewell-Buck wins South Shields by-election to succeed David Miliband

Emma Lewell-Buck.
Emma Lewell-Buck.
Have your say

South Shields has it’s first woman MP after Labour’s won by-election to succeed David Miliband

Ms Lewell-Buck, who will represent Whitburn as part of her constituency, stormed to victory, albeit with a reduced majority.

She won with 12,493 votes – 6,505 to behind UKIP, who pushed the Tories into third place.

The Lib Dems came third last with 352 votes, less than double that of the Monster Raving Looney Party.

The by-election was held after the resignation of former Foreign Secretary David Miliband, the brother of Labour leader Ed.

Full results:

Emma Lewell-Buck (Labour Party) 12,493

Richard Peter Elvin (UK Independence Party) 5,988

Karen Allen (Conservative Party) 2,857

Ahmed Khan (Independent) 1,331

Phil Brown (The Independent Socialist Party) 750

Lady Dorothy MacBeth Brookes (British National Party) 711

Hugh Annand (Liberal Democrat) 352

Howling Laud Hope (The Official Monster Raving Loony Party) 197

Thomas Faithful Darwood (Independent) 57