History spectacular Kynren set to return to North East

Kynren is returning for a second season.
Kynren is returning for a second season.
0
Have your say

A show chronicling more than 2,000 years of English history which attracted more than 100,000 visitors in its first year is returning to the North East this summer.

'Kynren - an epic tale of England' is set for a second season against a backdrop of Auckland Castle, in Bishop Auckland.

Kynren is returning for a second season.

Kynren is returning for a second season.

The opening night is on July 1, with a larger volunteer cast, including 70 new teenagers and increased special effects.

Production company Eleven Arches' new creative director, Steve Boyd, has focused on improving all 25 scenes in the show.

The Olympic and Paralympic Games opening ceremony specialist will add extra depth, scale and pageantry to each scene, including cameos such as splintering jousts and cavalry sequences, as well as more fire effects and pyrotechnics.

Award-winning composer Nathan Stornetta has stayed on to enhance the overall experience, and provide a new scene for Britain's iconic Celtic leader Queen Boudicca.

Kynren is returning for a second season.

Kynren is returning for a second season.

Other new characters to look out for in Kynren 2017 include Augustine of Canterbury, Prince Bishop Bek, Bishop Trevor and Henry VIII’s ‘fixer-in-chief’, Cardinal Wolsey.

Return visitors will also notice the addition of Lindisfarne fisherwomen, a giant Axeman at the Battle of Stamford Bridge, medieval wrestlers, a musket battle between Roundheads and Cavaliers in the English Civil War, and a thrilling WWI motorcycle chase involving German and British soldiers.

In its first season, the show was watched by more than 100,000 people.

Extra surprises have been planned for those attending the premiere on July 1.

Kynren is returning for a second season.

Kynren is returning for a second season.

For more information and to book tickets, visit www.kynren.co.uk

Performance Dates and Times

July 2017

Saturday 1 July, 9.30pm

Kynren is returning for a second season.

Kynren is returning for a second season.

Friday 7 July, 9.30pm

Saturday 8 July, 9.30pm

Friday 14 July, 9.30pm

Saturday 15 July, 9.30pm

Friday 21 July, 9.00pm

Saturday 22 July, 9.00pm

Kynren is returning for a second season.

Kynren is returning for a second season.

August 2017

Friday 11 August, 9.00pm

Saturday 12 August, 9.00m

Friday 18 August, 8.30pm

Saturday 19 August, 8.30pm

Saturday 26 August, 8.00pm

Sunday 27 August, 8.00pm

September 2017

Friday 1 September, 8.00pm

Saturday 2 September, 8.00pm

Saturday 9 September, 8.00pm

Saturday 16 September, 8.00pm