Roker players take a break

editorial image
0
Have your say

AFTER their fine winning challenge against Preston N.E. at Deepdale last night, Sunderland manager Mr Bob Stokoe is giving his players a break from training. “We’ll not be working today or tomorrow” he said “and we’ll get down to serious business again on Thursday to prepare for Saturday’s game against Fulham at Craven Cottage.”

He has no clear picture at the moment of which players will still be doubtful starters by then, but the early arrivals for treatment today include Vic Halom, Dennis Tueart, Dick Malone, Billy Hughes and Ron Guthrie.

He took time off from the “sick parade” to go into the matter of fitting postponed games into an already heavy programme.

With dates now agreed for all outstanding games, the list now reads: Saturday, Fulham a; Tuesday, March 27, Carlisle U h; Saturday March 31, Bristol City h; Monday, April 2, Q.P.R. h; Saturday, April 7, Arsenal or Chelsea at Hillsbrough; Tuesday, April 10, Huddersfield h; Saturday, April 14, Portsmouth h; Monday, April 16, Burnley a; Saturday, April 21, Hull City a; Monday, April 23, Cardiff City h; Tuesday, April 24, Nottingham Forest a; Saturday, April 28, Blackpool h; Monday, April 30, Orient a; Wednesday, May 2, Cardiff City a.

Story taken from the Sunderland Echo on March 20 1973.